TIME

Mar. 27th, 2026 05:47 am
tyger: Law (One Piece) - What the fuck? (Law - wtf)
[personal profile] tyger

So my first mistake was giving into the desire to take a nap after breakfast. I was really tired and definitely needed it, but I also slept through the alarm I set by like. Five hours. SO.

Still, I did get down to the shops! And got meds! I just also got rained on, because apparently it is rainy season for at least a day or two, bleh. This also brings with it COLD, which I Do Not Appreciate.

Anyway, by the time I get back and feed cats and feed self, it's uh. Dark out. Partially due to the goddamn rain, but still. Dark. So no electric sander today again.

I DID finish up the fiddly bit at the top, though, and I did a lot of work (time wise) on one of the shelves. Didn't use up all the stripper like I was planning on, mainly because And Suddenly Five AM. Aaaaargh. I thought it felt like I'd been there for a while because it's kinda boring! But noooo... (To be fair that was the second session and I started at like 2, but I didn't think it'd been more than an hour, hour and a half max. Um. Not so much...) On the plus side, that does mean my concentration's getting better??

ANYWAY. I am cold and I am tired and I am going the fuck to bed now, yes. >: >: >: Tomorrow there definitely has to be electric sander work happening though. I have GOT to get this thing moving quicker or the brainweasels will eat me again...

Sleepiness makes the brains not work

Mar. 26th, 2026 05:34 am
tyger: Fang. (Fang)
[personal profile] tyger

Yeah I kinda slept all day today. I wish I could say I was surprised, but I'm really not. I am, however, annoyed that by the time I put together the fact that 'need to get meds' means 'cannot leave this until after kittydinnertime' it was uh. Like. Five minutes before the pharmacy closed. SIGH. So, anyway, will go down tomorrow! I do have enough meds for the morning, so that's okay at least.

Even once I was up and vaguely awake time keeps slipping away from me, though. It's uh. It's a thing. And why I'm still awake, I was gonna attempt to go earlier but it was like 11:30-1-3-5 in a series of blinks and yeah. Time. Bleh. Not helped by Azaria sending me a really gripping fic to read, but it was doing that before then too.

I DID get a little bit of stuff done - sanded and filled bits on the window frames, did some touch up painting, started stripping the top of the bookcase... buuut nowhere near as much as I need to get done so I can start painting soon. Bleh. Tomorrow I think I'll keep stripping stuff until I either run out of stripper or am ready to start painting. Will almost definitely be the former, 'cause there is a LOT of bookshelf, but we'll see. Oh but I should do the sandable areas with the electric sander first, yes. >:

...it's all gonna come down to how much daylight working time I have. I should... probably not take a nap after kittybreakfasttime. Which means I REALLY need to go to bed right the fuck now. Yes.

Shadow of the tomb raider, 2

Mar. 25th, 2026 03:31 am
requiems: (amélie ☙ one shot one kill)
[personal profile] requiems
100% completion! I have scoured the map for collectibles and had a lovely week inside of ruins and have been jumpscared a few times (but not too badly) and got frustrated during combat sequences a few times (if they discover a body the npc's AI just fucking BEELINES for you even if you're hidden) and had a fair few ???? moments during climbing exploration because it wasn't immediately obvious... sometimes jumps do not look jumpable at first glance, the grappling mechanic fails for no discernible reason except Lara is angled oddly, or she won't navigate complex terrain all that well...

The DLC unfortunately returns to the format that I remember Rise using for its tombs, in that they're all designed around timed puzzles so you can run them quickly to get a higher score and then trophies. I sincerely do not care for timed puzzles that require me to double back half a dozen times because I missed activating something by a fraction of a second. I want to explore it's about the aesthetic and vibes. I want to take my time solving a puzzle myself, but not in a repetitive way. I was perhaps two thirds of the way through the first DLC tomb and so frustrated and having so little fun that I had reached the point of "I don't care I just want it to be over" and used a walkthrough to get out. I am hesitant to do any more of them frankly, but trophies.

I was thinking about maybe doing a Deadly Obsession run in NG+, which is the hardest difficulty of the game with no checkpoints and reduced campfires, which can be done reasonably quickly in NG+ if you get all the gear you need and max out your resources before you start the file. The final boss arena changed my mind on this entirely because I can foresee losing hours of my life to running this sequence.

why I will not be doing that )

Uhhh what else. I liked Lara's feral moment: good is not soft. She has a terrible day after Square dutifully kills their one other female character that fights, and your doe eyed protagonist should have moments of striking fear into those who have chosen to test her. I liked the ending: Lara got to see her parents one last time, I liked the Crimson Fire twist, there was some really good music playing during the tomb at the Mission of San Juan, I got to explore a Spanish galleon, temples galore. I liked an npc commenting on the thrill of discovery he could hear in Lara's voice, of seeing things unseen for thousands of years, and hoping she'd never lose that wonder. I did not like Lara's death cutscenes, which I never ever have, but if you're fast enough you can checkpoint reload before you have to see it and spare yourself watching spike impalement. Honestly the most heinous of these was during an escape sequence in Paititi, if the guard catches you they joyously hack you to pieces in the street whilst Lara screams, and that is way, way too 2013 Tomb Raider for me, which is why I never played it. It's just torture porn. It bothers me that there are cutscenes people had to make for every single location which is just Lara screaming and dying in brutal ways, it's not necessary. Men of the genre don't have this happen to them, your defining woman does not need it either. It also bumps the rating: there's a lot of stabbing going on in the closing hours but you don't see any of it on screen and there's no blood either?? The most gruesome thing was in the opening couple hours with a recently mauled, blood soaked half body asset being thrown at you from a jaguar's maw but most of the time unless it's Lara out of combat deaths, nothing.

Anyway, I give it a solid "it was fine", music was consistently great, it looked beautiful, narrative was not ground breaking but it wasn't a bad story to tell by any stretch. Once I decide what to do re: DLC tombs, it's probably time for Endwalker, where I'll be wishing for Mayan and Incan ruins, and what Dawntrail could have been...

I actually got back to sanding, yay?

Mar. 25th, 2026 04:55 am
tyger: Head and shoulder of Yuuko, some sort of scaly dragony fish thing in the background (Yuuko - dragonfish)
[personal profile] tyger

Stupid class was, unsurprisingly, stupid. Bleh. So boring!!! And takes so long! Bah.

I mostly just did that today, and passed out for a few hours afterwards, but I DID do some work on my room, and managed to talk myself into doing some sanding! It is. Boring. And I'mma need to rummage through the sanding supplies yet again, because the corners are being Problematic, but it's getting there. Was pleasantly surprised at how I could get some of the awkward bits done with the hand sander, too, but there's also a few bits that I think I'mma need the paint stripper for sure, they're just too small to get in there with even the hand sander.

Tomorrow I need to go down to the shops and get meds, but hopefully I'll be back in time to do a session with the electric sander as well, for the parts it can do! We'll see how long I sleep though, heh. I'm not as tired as yesterday, thanks to going to bed at a reasonable hour, but I'm still pretty tired so yeah. We'll see!

I am. So fucking tired.

Mar. 24th, 2026 02:00 am
tyger: Toothless curled up on a fiery piece of ground (Toothless - smug fire (ani))
[personal profile] tyger

I got maybe three hours of actual sleep last night. Bit more dozing. And then up for stupid class! Which is just as stupid as expected, siiiigh. Not surprised, but uuuugh what a pain.

Had multiplayer Terraria almost immediately after that - honestly I'm just glad I was done in time - but I napped for maybe an hour after that? But yeah, something like four hours in the last 24. This is uh. Not enough sleep! Probably shoulda gone to bed rather than nap after Terraria, but honestly? Would probably mess my sleep schedule (such that it is) up even worse, soooo yeah.

I managed to finally fucking finish the repaints of the peeled bits of roof, too! Though that's all I really got done this evening. (I did clean the kitchen and scoop the catboxes on lunch break, at least, so it's at least a little better than just a tiny bit of paint!)

Aaaanyway, now it's time for bed. Much earlier than I've been able to manage recently! So at least I'll get some more sleep before more stupid class tomorrow...

TWENTY TWO AND A HALF CUPS

Mar. 23rd, 2026 04:42 am
tyger: Law (One Piece) - Are you serious? (Law - srsly?)
[personal profile] tyger

Sooooo I shredded the zucchini I had in the food processor today. There was. There was a LOT. 22.5 cups! That's FIVE batches of bread, aka FIFTEEN FUCKING LOAVES. That's SO MANY!!

I have already frozen some, in 1.5 cup packets, so one loaf at a time. But still. So much zucchini. SO glad I ordered cocoa and chocolate on Friday, ugh, I'mma need it!!!

Other than that, had Terraria today! Didn't go for super long, and I may or may not be able to join in tomorrow, since my stupid ~how to look for work~ class starts tomorrow and IDK when we'll be done by. Hopefully early!

Also a super shitty thing happened to Azy and she got hacked, which. Super stupid and annoying and horrible! And ON TOP OF THAT apparently Discord can't restore servers if they're deleted, because it immediately and irreversibly nukes fucking everything, what the fuck. So THAT'S exceptionally horrible, she lost a bunch of stuff. The stuff that was just ours is honestly the least of it, but I'm still upset. Fucking Discord, uuuugh.

Aaaand my stupid class thing starts in like. Four hours. Um. I'm just... gonna go to bed now. And worry about more stuff later. (Like staying awake...)

Bleh

Mar. 22nd, 2026 05:26 am
tyger: Entei, Suicine, and Raioku sprites (pokémon - legendary beasts)
[personal profile] tyger

Yet another not great day, mentally. Not surprised, but it'd be nice to get more shit done, rather than just jiiiiiii. Brains, bleh.

Still, I at least got SOME painting done, am almost finished with redoing the roof bits! Hopefully I'll finish that tomorrow...? I have been neglecting sanding entirely though so you know. That's not great. :/

Was also hoping to make some more zucchini bread today, given I finished the loaf I had out for breakfast, but alas. I at least got the stuff that needed a soak before cleaning into a full sink, though, so that's one less step tomorrow! May also freeze some grated zucchini, there's just. SO MANY. So many. Why so much zucchini... ;;

Well today also sucked.

Mar. 21st, 2026 05:26 am
tyger: Axel, looking sad. (Axel - needs hugs)
[personal profile] tyger

The one tiny silver lining is it sucked for actual real sucky reasons, not just my brain being an asshole. Doesn't make it suck less, but at least I don't have to worry about brain management.

Mostly it's just been stupid everyday shit - Sushi PLEASE STOP PEEING IN THINGS OTHER THAN THE LITTERBOX - which is annoying and ruins your day but isn't, you know, otherwise noteworthy.

But I also found out that the one youtuber who I kind of keep up with fucking died a couple of days ago, and that just. Sucks. So bad.

It's not like we were personally close, or anything, but her work is stuff I keep coming back to. I don't know how many hours I've spent knitting/otherwise crafting with it on, let alone every other time I've decided I felt like watching things. Hundreds, though, at a minimum. And sure it's parasocial, but what with all the anecdotes and stuff spread around you do get the feeling of knowing someone, at least on an acquaintance level, and... now she's dead.

So yeah. I'm really fucking sad. Today fucking sucked.

I'mma go to bed now. As KoS would always say, "Take care of yourselves, and each other."

Shadow of the tomb raider

Mar. 20th, 2026 03:58 am
requiems: (fe8 ☙ magvel)
[personal profile] requiems
The day after my last journal entry, so the 8th, I was thinking about starting Shadow of the Tomb Raider. I decided this wouldn't be a very good idea as groceries were in two days and getting deep into something new then would be poor timing if I had to go back to the usual fare. Sensible enough. Ten days later, on the 17th, a whole week after groceries, I was finally well enough to give it a go. smh.

It's... simplistic narratively is probably the word I'm looking for. You're thrown in assuming you remember Rise (which I didn't), but no big deal if you don't. You are Lara Croft. You are chasing bad guys and looking for knowledge probably in tombs. That's all you need to know. It's not doing anything groundbreaking story wise but it's very much a product of coming out after Uncharted 4 and boy can you tell. A lot of Rise's criticisms was it being too survival and combat focused (already dressed down from the first of the survivor trilogy, which I never played) so Shadow focuses much more on exploration. This delivered, as in the first six hours I had had a grand total of one combat encounter with human enemies in the prologue and two encounters with jaguars. That ratio was wild, but the pacing is pretty decent between, explore an area with a puzzle, now you can explore this town, now you can fight these enemies between you and the next objective, here is a breathtaking panning shot of an ancient ruin (thank you), here are tombs and crypts to go off and look at now if you want, and so on. It also acknowledges what all women want, which are knives and axes. Truly I've seen Lara excited three times in this game and one of them was for a ceremonial knife and the second was for her climbing axes.

It does keep giving me headaches if I play too long in one sitting. I think there are simply too many jungle polygons. I love when there's gendered pronouns of all male enemies looking for her who is systematically taking them down from stealth I love getting to be a woman in a male dominated action game space thank you. I might have to look into temporarily remapping some buttons (not through the game, through console) as your effective eagle vision, survival instincts, is triggered by R3 and boy I wish I could toggle it I'm being forced to press R3 all the time and after three days my thumb is making its objections known. R1 might be the best option for it, it's used for zoom and crafting special ammo only, we'll see...

Also it's funny to me that I am totally chill with the following things: jaguars, jumpscares from ancient civilisations that appear out of the jungle to massacre the evil organisation and are absolutely going to turn on me at some point (par for the course in this kind of game it's going to get Fucking Weird), more jaguars, but I drew the line at piranhas. Genuine skin crawling fear. I absolutely hated the section I had to swim past a bunch. I just know they're going to do more later. :|a also Lara almost gets crushed in tight caverns way too many times in the opening hour and wow I did not like that either. Space, please!!!

It's going, though. I've done most of the combat trophies by checkpoint restarting (recommended), I have one or two left. We'll see how much I get through over the weekend.

Fuck my fucking brain, ugh

Mar. 20th, 2026 04:22 am
tyger: Axel's Avatar Kingdom chibi. Text: Axel (Axel - chibi)
[personal profile] tyger

So today has been. Bad. Mentally.

No reason I can see, unless I perhaps need to go outside more? But I'm eating a vaguely balanced diet, and sleeping enough even if at weird hours, and - oh. Right. I do keep forgetting to take my meds/taking them late/etc. That might be the problem.

Anyway today I mostly failed any and all will saves over just going the fuck to sleep. The fact that Sushi has been extremely cuddly hasn't helped, of course, but the first will save was when he woke me up at fuckoff o'clock (like 7:30 or something) and I kicked him out into the back of the house because hahaha noooo. And then didn't get out of bed again until mid-afternoon. Sooooo. Yeah. Not great.

Despite that, I did get some chore-like things done - took out the rubbish, cleaned the chook feeder (it generally doesn't need cleaning, since the inside is protected from dust, but the mechanism's stuck a couple of times recently so I figured it needed dusting. There was uh. A lot of dust), that kinda thing.

And I DID do some painting? Still only like two thirds of the way through the first edge though. :/ Kinda thinking it might be more efficient to just... do some very temporary tape and paint it quickly, rather than have to be so! fucking! precise!! Which is uh not my strong point.

Didn't do any sanding, though, which is. Less good. :/

Anyway, now is time for bed again and hopefully tomorrow will be better!!! >:

Saaaanding

Mar. 19th, 2026 04:10 am
tyger: Theif King Bakura, from below and behind.  Text: I'm JUDGE and I'm JURY//And I'm EXECUTIONER too (Bakurae - Thief King - executioner)
[personal profile] tyger

Ugh, back in sanding hell. This time it's hell because I checked on the undercoat, and it says if you wanna put it on oil based paints you need to sand it back far enough all the shiny's gone. That is. That is a lot.

Particularly since I can't use the electric sander for most of it - the bookshelves are too short to get it in there orz orz orz. Can do the backs, and the sides, but yeaaaaaah. Tops and bottoms gotta be hand sanded. I THINK I got one at least mostly done, but I'll have to check tomorrow. I was wiping the dust off as I went with a damp cloth, so hard to say for sure if the shiny's all gone when it's still damp. :/

Also started repainting the bits of the roof that need it, and. Ugh. It's gonna take FOREVER, I can tell already. Combination of 'have to use a tiny brush because of the precision required' and 'need to concentrate REALLY REALLY HARD', alas, so there's no real way of speeding it up. Just need to keep doing it until the brain gets tired! And then sanding because that doesn't need brain, that just needs muscles. And then when muscles are protesting too much, time for a break. Yes. Something like that, anyway.

Thinking I might need to hit some bits with the paint stripper, too. Curved bit at the top, bits at the sides where even the hand sander can't get in easily, that kind of thing. Bleeeeeeeh, it's gonna be a pain I can tell already. But OH WELL at least!!! This is the last thing that needs this sort of treatment! Probably!

Jiiiiiiiii

Mar. 18th, 2026 04:04 am
tyger: Lion Sora, official art in the background, homemade sprite in the foreground (Sora - lion)
[personal profile] tyger

Not sure what happened, but. Jiiiiii. Anvil of tired maybe? IDK.

Anyway, got the rest of the tape off today! It took WAY longer than something that simple ought to, tbh, but at the same time I DID do a lot of coats so it's not surprising that the tape was uh kinda stuck down in places. Also it's just a pain in the ass to get it out from behind the picture rail, if it rips. (And it ripped A Lot, siiiiigh.)

Tomorrow, cleaning up the room - I have a LOT of stuff stored on the bookshelves, twenty bajillion different kinds of sandpaper, random tools, etc. - and then scrubbing down the main part of the shelves, I think. Sanding if there's enough time to start with the electric sander during the daylight hours, otherwise scrubbing down the top and filling in bits of wood that need it, I think. Current idea is to do the main part of the shelves first, since I won't need to tape anything for that - I'm hoping if I leave it a few days before I tape stuff up again it's more likely to uh. You know. Not come away with the paint underneath when I take the tape back down again. Hopefully it won't do that anyway, but just in case, you know?? Pain in the ass, so avoid if possible.

A didn't end up coming over, alas, but also not a surprise; she's going to visit her mum for a week tomorrow, so busy busy.

Anyway now is time for sleeping for me yes. Ugh, have the fan on and it's super cold, but I need it on because I have washing drying... luckily, sleeping in a different room, hahaha!

tyger: Eevee.  Text: イーブィ (pokémon - eevee)
[personal profile] tyger

Main painting thing today was peeling off the tape from the roof and filling in any missed bits with a very small brush. It was. Uh. Well it needed doing but WOW it ate concentration liek woah so yeah it took forever.

Also my poor roof needs the edges done again, fuck that fucking crumbling filler uuuuugh. (Also there's a bit where I got undercoat on the roof and in cleaning it off wore a hole in the paint which is. Not. Not good. :|) Hopefully it can all be done with the paint I have but it was pretty close to done and I'm uh. Not sure it doesn't need at least one more coat given... all that. Sigh.

I also did multiplayer Terraria this afternoon, which was fun and not interrupted by an asshole cat breaking things! \o/ And I baked zucchini bread again. Hopefully A will come over tomorrow and take some with her, I have. So many zucchinis a-fucking-gain. (I'm also out of choc chips again. I just. Why. Why so much.)

Aaand I stayed up way too late as fucking usual but I'mma go to bed now. Yes. >:

A Day Of Broken Things

Mar. 16th, 2026 03:37 am
tyger: Axel sprite with a :/-face.  Text: you have GOT to be fucking shitting me (Axel - you're shitting me)
[personal profile] tyger

On the bright side of things, I'm pretty sure the walls are finally DONE. I'll take another look in the daylight, since I did to a couple of small fixes (and a sand) this evening, but I think they're done now. Hopefully.

On the other hand, today has been A Fucking Day, omfg.

Started off with this morning thinking I'll do a quick coat of one of the walls while the cats were eating breakfast. Had to add some more paint to the tray, but whatever that happens.

And then I somehow fucking broke the tray. Split it up the middle! Luckily not the whole way, most of the deep part was okay, but holy shit there was a VERY FRANTIC session of painting fucking ALL THE WALLS to get the paint out of the tray and NOT on the floor. I did okay at that, I think? Spill was pretty minimal, considering. But yeah, all the walls, including some of the upper walls, just in the middle but... yeah. Paint!!!

This was of course all before fucking breakfast for me. Ugh.

And then! This afternoon! I was playing Terraria with everyone, which was nice, and Sushi was whining about food (despite it being like. 45min until kittydinnertime at that point), and he decided he was going to bite my monitor in protest of the extremely unfair "dinner is the same time every day, beanboy" position I took. First couple of times it was just him being a dick as usual, and I shooed him off, but then! He fucking BIT THROUGH AND CRACKED THE SCREEN.

Yeah.

Monitor is dead, it'll turn on, and show picture for a second or so, and then black screen. Nothin'. Soooo gonna have to get a new goddamn monitor. I'm using my old one right now, and ugh. It works but it's nowhere near as nice. ;;

I also broke the handle of an old rusty paint scraper I've been using to clean paint trays, but that's no big deal. Amusing that the handle broke down first, honestly. But given the day's track record I absolutely did not do any real cooking, or anything else that involved things I cannot deal without because woooow. What a fucking day.

Bed now! Tomorrow will probably be better! Or at least less full of paint, bleh. Though if I am done with the walls that does mean I'm back to cleaning/sanding/filling again, nooooo...

mark: A photo of Mark kneeling on top of the Taal Volcano in the Philippines. It was a long hike. (Default)
[staff profile] mark posting in [site community profile] dw_maintenance

Happy Saturday!

I'm going to be doing a little maintenance today. It will likely cause a tiny interruption of service (specifically for www.dreamwidth.org) on the order of 2-3 minutes while some settings propagate. If you're on a journal page, that should still work throughout!

If it doesn't work, the rollback plan is pretty quick, I'm just toggling a setting on how traffic gets to the site. I'll update this post if something goes wrong, but don't anticipate any interruption to be longer than 10 minutes even in a rollback situation.

Sleeeeby

Mar. 15th, 2026 03:16 am
tyger: Sora grinning ridiculously wide.  Coloured with multicoloured vaguely 'watercolour' effects.  Text: Yup.  Totally sane. (Sora - sane)
[personal profile] tyger

Very tired day again. Annoying!

What's also annoying is that I found a goddamn zucchini literally the size of my forearm - I really REALLY wish that was an exaggeration but I went to the extent of taking a picture of them side by side to compare, and no. It is forearm sized - this morning, so I was all 'yup, GOTTA buy more cocoa', but I checked my bank account and I don't have enough to order a bulk amount and won't until probably Friday. Ugh. So I just got some at the supermarket, which is annoying but I had to go and get milk anyway so at least there's that. Gotta wash the pans before making more bread, though. >>;;; Fuck I hate doing dishes.

I did, however, have a goddamn brainwave, and moved one of the nice comfy chairs from its usual spot looking at the tv, so it instead looks out the window, and consequentially gets the good afternoon sun :3 :3 :3 So I flopped out on that with it extended all the way back and dozed for half an hour or so this afternoon, A++ will do again. (Though of course Sushi wanted to play underneath it while I was moving it, so that was a bit nerve wracking... sigh. Cats.)

Got a coat done on the walls, plus a little bit of rollering on the upper walls, since they were a bit blotchy still. Probably gonna need a third coat at least, maybe more in some places, but have to wait for it to properly dry to be able to tell and then I was just. Very sleepy. So I am going to bed now yes.

Cold...

Mar. 14th, 2026 04:51 am
tyger: Luffy (One Piece) - grinning (Luffy - sparklegrin)
[personal profile] tyger

Upper walls are pretty much done! I want to check them again in the daylight, but I think I got everything! :D :D :D Gave the lower walls some paint on the worst of the scraped back patches, too, though I'mma need to give them at least another full coat. Tomorrow, though! >:

Other than that, not a whole lot really. I slept way more than I meant to, due to the fact that when I woke up from my nap Sushi was sleeping on me, and then somehow it was like three hours later. >>;;;; Whoops??

I did finally remember to shower during the day, though! It's been way too fucking cold to do it at night the past few days, but being clean IS important, even if it's annoying, so. ...aww crap no wonder it gets so goddamn cold I forgot to close all the windows that're open a couple of centimetres for anti-humidity purposes. Ugh. I'll do it during the day tomorrow, I guess, unless it gets humid again? Weather, be more predictable plz....

Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 11:44 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios